Montezuma

FUN FACTS:

  • Catoctin Street dates back to the 1887 La Mesa Colony Subdivision and follows its original route from the Cajon Road (El Cajon Blvd.) out toward the rim of Alvarado Canyon.
  • 63rd Street was originally the Adobe Falls Road that provided access to the Falls and associated ponds. These were used as unofficial Park lands for locals until the building of the Alvarado Highway (later Interstate 8) in 1950.
  • Montezuma Elementary School opened in 1951 to meet the growing demand due to the rapid suburban development of the area spread out on both sides of the recently extended Montezuma Road.
  • Reservoir Drive originally led down and across Alvarado Canyon and out to La Mesa Dam (now Lake Murray Dam).
  • Although most homes in the area are similar model "tract homes," Rockford Drive features one of San Diego architect Sim Bruce Richards most unique Organic style buildings and several unique "New Orleans Revival" style homes commissioned by Collwood Park developer Arthur McKee.

HISTORICAL SUBDIVISIONS:

LA MESA COLONY est. 1887
OAKEMERE est. 1913
ALVARADO HEIGHTS est. 1916
ACACIA PARK est. 1926
METROPOLITAN CENTER est. 1928
COLLWOOD PARK est. 1947-50
COLLWOOD MANOR est. 1950
COSGROVE MESA est. 1950
DENNSTEDT POINT est. 1951
MONTEZUMA HEIGHTS est. 1951
SMITH TERRACE est. 1951
WHITFIELD est. 1952
CATOCTIN TRACT est. 1952
COLLEGE MANOR est. 1953-54
ENGLESTAD'S AZTEC MANOR est. 1953
DASS MANOR est. 1954
TOMMASA TERRACE est. 1954
COLLEGE VISTA est. 1956
MONTEZUMA MANOR est. 1957
MONTEZUMA PARK est. 1962
MINERVA MANOR est. 1963
COLLEGE VILLAGE est. 1964
TELSTAR SUBDIVISION est. 1966